Saturday, 25 November 2017

The other States of the United States

Kingdom of Hawai'i- to 1893, Republic of Hawai'i, 1893-1898

The Kingdom of Hawaiʻi originated in 1795 with the unification of the independent islands of Hawaiʻi, Oʻahu, Maui, Molokaʻi, and Lānaʻi under one government. In 1810 the whole Hawaiian archipelago became unified when Kauaʻi and Niʻihau joined the kingdom voluntarily and without bloodshed or war. Two major dynastic families ruled the kingdom: the House of Kamehameha and the House of Kalākaua.

The kingdom won recognition from major European powers. The United States became its chief trading partner. The kingdom was watched jealously by the United States against the possibility of another power (such as Britain or Japan) threatening to seize control. Hawaii adopted a new constitution in 1887 to reduce the absolute power of King Kalākaua. Queen Liliʻuokalani, who succeeded Kalākaua in 1891, tried to restore the old order, but was overthrown in 1893, largely at the hands of United States citizens. Hawaii became a republic until the United States annexed it in 1898.

Republic of Texas- 1836-1845

The Republic of Texas (in English: Republic of Texas) was an independent state in North America, which existed between March 2, 1836 and December 29, 1845, when the annexation of Texas to the United States occurred. America. Originally New Spain and then Mexican territory, Texas separated from Mexico after the war of independence of Texas. In 1846, the transfer of powers to the United States finally took place, with which the ephemeral republic ended.

Republic of California- 1846

La República de California, también llamada la República de la Bandera del Oso, fue un estado surgido a raíz de la sublevación llevada a cabo por los colonos californianos de origen estadounidense, el día 14 de junio de 1846, en la ciudad de Sonoma en contra de las autoridades de la hasta entonces provincia mexicana de Alta California. Declarada durante la Guerra mexicano-estadounidense, esta república duró 25 días y llegó a ser, posteriormente, el actual estado de California, Estados Unidos.

Confederate States of America- 1861 to 1865

The Confederate States of America (CSA or C.S.), commonly referred to as the Confederacy, was an unrecognized country in North America that existed from 1861 to 1865. The Confederacy was originally formed by seven secessionist slave-holding states – South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas – in the Lower South region of the United States whose regional economy was mostly dependent upon agriculture, particularly cotton, and a plantation system that relied upon the labor of African-American slaves.

Each state declared its secession from the United States following the November 1860 election of Republican candidate Abraham Lincoln to the U.S. presidency on a platform which opposed the expansion of slavery into the western territories.

No comments:

Post a Comment